Resources » West Bengal Information Articles » Bengal Updates

Road Names of Kolkata - Bengal Road Names

Updated: Category: Bengal Updates
Author: Member Level: GoldPoints: 5

Confused with the new road names in Kolkata? Many Road Names of Kolkata has been changed to the legendary personnel name in Kolkata in last few years. Wants to know the New Names of Kolkata Roads? Know the Old names of Kolkata Road and the newer names of roads in Kolkata below.

Calcutta became Kolkata and in this way many Road names has been updated. Many of us often get confused with the recent name and could not realize the place; immediately.

Kolkata's Old Road Name & New Road Name List : -

1. Park Street is now Mother Teresa Sarani

2. Naktala Scheme-I is now Shailendra Kr. Chowdhury Sarani

3. Khagendra Chatterjee Road becomes Gun Foundry Road

4. Ripon Square is now Mirca Eliade Square

5. Allenby Road renamed to Dr. Sisir Kumar Bose Sarani

6. A.J.C.Bose Road (from Calcutta Club to Vidyasagar Setu) has changed to Sardar Patel Sarani

7. Jadavpur Central Road changed to Sree Ramthakur Sarani

8. May Fair Road named as Shaheed Bhagat Singh Sarani

9. I.T.C. Park has changed to Indira Gandhi Udyan

10. India Exchange Place is now Maharana Pratap Sarani

11. Garden Reach Road known as Nawab Wajid Ali Shah Road

12. Macpherson Square renamed as Maharana Pratap Uddyan

13. Middleton Street becomes Prafulla Chandra Sen Sarani

14. Sukeas Lane is now changed to Phusraj Bachhawat Path

15. Middleton Row becomes Sir William Jones Sarani

16. Western part of Abhedananda Road (Beadon St.) From Chittaranjan Avenue to Rabindra Sarani has changed to Utpal Dutta Sarani

17. Topsia Road from now on known as Babu Jagjiban Ram Sarani

18. Mohandas Tarag (nearest Road) named as Press Club Path

19. Paddmapukur Lane changed to Anuvrat Sarani

20. Strand Road is now Gandhi Sarani

21. Narkeldanga North Road has changed to Mahanambrata Sarani

22. Rajabagan Street becomes Nati Binodini Sarani

Kolkata Road names are changed but we can still use the old names for better response while traveling.

I am requesting you to Subscribe to this resource for future updates.

Did you like this resource? Share it with your friends and show your love!

Responses to "Road Names of Kolkata - Bengal Road Names"
Author: Anindya Bhattacharjee  10 Apr 2010   Member Level: Gold   Points : 2
What is the New Name of E.M.Bypass of Kolkata?
What was the Old / Previous Name of EM Bypass in Kolkata?
The New Name of E.M.Bypass, Kolkata (Eastern Metropolitan Bypass of Kolkata) is Jyoti Basu Sarani from now onwards. The Road name changes on the legendary Marxist and great communist and our beloved Chief-Minister Comrade Jyoti Basu, who left us in 2010.

So, from now onwards keep in mind that E.M. Bypass of Kolkata and Jyoti Basu Sarani in Kolkata are the same.


Post Comment:

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name:   Sign In to fill automatically.
    Email: (Will not be published, but required to validate comment)

    Type the numbers and letters shown on the left.

    Submit Article     Return to Article Index
    Copyright © SpiderWorks Technologies Pvt Ltd., Kochi, India
    All Rights Reserved.