Resources » West Bengal Information Articles » Bengal Information

List of Mayors of Kolkata

Updated: Category: Bengal Information
Author: Member Level: GoldPoints: 15 (Rs 5)

This is the list of Mayors of Kolkata.

The first Kolkata Municipal Election was held on 16th April, 1924. Since then there were 36 Mayors in all. In the mean time, there were no Corporation Election and hence, no Mayors from 1948 to 1952 and 1972-1985. This is the List of Mayors of Kolkata.

List of Mayors of Kolkata:

Chittaranjan Das (1924-1925)

Jatindra Mohan Sengupta (1925-30)

Bejoy Kumar Basu (1928-29) [Interim Mayor]

Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose (1930-1931)

Dr Bidhan Chandra Roy (1931-1933)

Santosh Kumar Basu (1933-1934)

Nalini Ranjan Sarkar (1934-1935)

Abul Kasem Faziul Haque (1935-1936)

Sanat Kumar Roy Chowdhury (1937-1938)

AKM Zakariah (1938-1939)

Nitish Chandra Sen (1939-1940)

A.R. Siddiqui (1940-1941)

Phanindra Nath Brahmma (1941-1942)

Hem Chandra Naskar (1942-1943)

Syed Badrudduja (1943-1944)

Anandi Lal Poddar (1944-1945)

Debendranath Mukherjee (1945-1946)

Syed Md. Usman (1946-1947)

Sudhir Chandra Ray Chaudhuri (1947-1948)

Nirmal Chandra Chunder (1952-1953)

Naresh Nath Mookherjee (1953-1955)

Satis Chandra Ghosh (1955-1956)

Sir Hari Sanker Paul (1956-1957)

Dr Triguna Sen (1957-1959)

Bejoy Kumar Banerjee (1959-1960)

Keshab Chandra Basu (1960-1961)

Rajendra Nath Majumdar (1961-1963)

Chittaranjan Chatterjee (1963-1965)

PK Roy Chowdhury (1965-1967)

Gobindra Chandra Dey (1967-1969)

Prasanta Sur (1969-1971)

Shyam Sundar Gupta (1971-1972)

Kamal Basu (1985-1990)

Prasanta Chatterjee (1990-2000)

Subrata Mukherjee (2000-2005)

Bikash Bhattacharjee (2005-2010)

Read related articles: Kolkata Municipal Election   

Did you like this resource? Share it with your friends and show your love!

Responses to "List of Mayors of Kolkata"

No responses found. Be the first to respond...


Post Comment:

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name:   Sign In to fill automatically.
    Email: (Will not be published, but required to validate comment)

    Type the numbers and letters shown on the left.

    Submit Article     Return to Article Index
    Copyright © SpiderWorks Technologies Pvt Ltd., Kochi, India
    All Rights Reserved.