New Members of Kolkata Municipal Corporation

Get to know the Names of new Members of KMC – Mayor, Deputy Mayor, Leader, Chairman and others.

Ms.Mamata Banerjee today announced Mr.Sovan Chatterjee as the Mayor of Kolkata and Ms.Farjana Alam as the Deputy Mayor. Mr.Sachhidananda Banerjee will be the Chairman of the board, while Mr.Manzoor Iqbal was chosen the leader of the Trinamool Congress in the KMC.

Ms.Banerjee also set up an expert committee headed by former mayor, Mr.Subrata Mukherjee, to oversee the functioning of the new board. The names of the members Mayor-in-Council, the deputy leader and the chief whip will be announced after the oath taking ceremony of the councilors and formal mayoral election are held on 16 June.

Ms.Banerjee made the selection of the mayor and other top functionaries in the presence of the media and asked all 95 councilors to "speak up" about the choice of mayor and "feel free to express their disapproval if they aren't happy with the mayoral candidate." Ms.Banerjee made it clear to the councilors that they would be under constant watch of the people and party leadership and said, "The coming state Assembly election will usher in the much needed regime change. We have to win the peoples confidence through our work in the KMC and other civic bodies. That is going to be our top priority. The councilors and MIC members mustn't compete among themselves for getting positions of responsibility, but for surpassing each other's performance for the benefit of the people."

Mr. Sovan Chatterjee said that in consultation with the party he would take steps to restructure the present tax system and improve the supply of drinking water, drainage systems and road networks.

Related Articles

More articles: Kolkata Corporation


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: