Kavi Guru's Visva Bharati University at Shanti Niketan

Visva Bharati University which was established by Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore at Shantiniketan Birbhum West Bengal.

The communion of the world with India thought directed Rabindranath Tagore to establish the Visva Bharati at Shanti Niketan West Bengal in 1863. Pre-Independence era it was known as a college but after independence it was given an University Status. Now it is known as Visva Bharati University.

In the year 1863 Maharshi Debendranath Tagore set up an Ashrama which is now known as Chatim Tala. The Ashrama was a Brahamacharya Ashrama. Then it was renamed as Brahamacharya Vidyalaya where people use to come for meditation. Then in the year 1901 Rabindranath Tagore the youngest Son of Debendranath Tagore opened an educational school in the Ashrama premises. Rabindranath Tagore also started to organise a Mela there as Hindu Mela. In 1913 Rabindranath Tagore got the prestigious Noble Prize for his marvelous work Gitanjali. The prize money of the Noble he used for the school and officially started the college in 1921. The Govt. of India gave the college full University status in 1952. Rathindranath Tagore became the first Upacharya of the University the eldest son of Rabindranath Tagore. Indira Devi Chaudhurani also performed as Upacharya in the University.

The administration of the University consists of Visitor or Paridarshaka, Vice Chancellor or Upacharya and Chancellor or Acharya. The Visitor of the University is President of India. The Acharya of the University is the Prime Minister of India. The Chancellor chairs the executive council body or Karma Samity.

The University is divided into various departments like institutes, departments, centers and Schools. The cultural heritage part is funded by the DST Govt. of India. it has several institutes and museums.

Cheena Bhavan the Chinese language and culture centre which was founded in April 1937. Prof. Tan Yunshan was invited for serving the chairperson of Cheena Bhavan. Buddhism, Chinese Philosophy and Sino-Indian studies are cultured here. It has a library too for classical Chinese studies.
The Darshan Bhavan is meant for philosophical studies. Prof. Jiten Mohanty is looking after this segment.

Kala Bhawan or Institute of Fine Arts is the most popular department of the University. Abanindranath Tagore was the founder of this segment. This segment got the excellent students body as well as teachers. Some great scholars are associated with this department like: Abanindranath Tagore, Gaganendranath Tagore, Binod Bihari Mukherjee, Ramkinkar Baij, Nandalal Bose etc.

Rabindra Bhawan is a department where research and studies of Rabindranath is done, its current Director is Dr. Swapan Chakraborty.This is also known as Uttarayan Complex.
Siksha Bhawan is a department which is meant for studies for science section like, Biotechnology,Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science, Botany, Zoology and Environmental Studies.
Sangeet Bhavan is one of the most happening department of the University as Drama, Dance and Music are performed here at regular interval.
Some other departments are Palli Charcha Kendra, Palli Samgathana Vibhaga and Palli Siksha Bhavana where Agriculture researches are done.

Silpa Sadana is a very special institution of the University meant for craft and design. This department produces quality Craftsmen and quality crafts work. This was set up in 1922 by Rabindranath Tagore. The main mission and vision of the Silpa Sadan is to uplift the rural economic values and to bring the rural people into main stream. The process is first students are given training at the classroom and the products they make during the training are sent to the trained craftsmen for final touch and then the products are sent for sale at the Silpa Sadan Emporium. Silpa Sadan gives various training:
B.Des. bachelor degree in designing for 4 years (12th pass in any stream and under 25 years)
2 years certificate course after 10th pass with no age bar for Handmade paper, Batik work, Handloom weaving, Wood work, Pottery, Leather Crafts.
8-20 Short term courses in Traditional Batik, Ceramics, Table Ware, Creative Weaving, Dyeing & Printing, Glazing and Firing, Leather Craft, Raku Craft, Terracotta Craft, Wooden Jewellery, Wood Turning etc.

Vidya Bhavan is the institute which deals in History and Economic studies and Social Science departments. This institute is affiliated to West Bengal University of Technology.

Patha Bhavan is the oldest institution of the University established in 1901 by Rabindranath Tagore at Shantiniketan. This is also called as Shantiniketan Vidyalaya. It is unique for its open air classes which is an Ashrama like oriental style study method and for that it is also known as Ashrama Vidyalaya. Some of the famous students are Rathindranath Tagore, Amartya Sen, Sudhi Ranjan Das, Asim Dutta, Supriyo Tagore, Tapan Raychaudhary.

Mrinalini Ananda Pathsala which was established by Mrinalini Devi wife of Rabindranath Tagore in 1954 as a prepatory for the Patha Bhavan.
Santosh Pathsala is a kindergarten School which prepares students for Shiksha Shastra and named after Santosh Chandra Majumdar which was established in 1988.
Shiksha Shastra is a place where neighbouring village students get education which was established in 1924 and later it was shifted to Sriniketan.

The Visva Bharati University's Library is divided as the Grantha Vibhaga in Kolkata and Central library at Shantiniketan.

Campus Life
The Visva Bharati Campus is divided in two twin towns of Shantiniketan and Sriniketan which are sourrounded by Bolpur, Kheya, Surul and Prantik at North, South, East and West. There is a river also named as Kopai very near to the University Campus. Visva Bharati University campus is very famous for its cultural festivals like Basanta Utsav, Poush Mela.

Basanta Utsav: This festival is very popular not only in Bengal but worldwide. In this festival Dol Jatra or holi is played just in front of Patha Bhavana.

Poush Mela:
Guest House: The University got one guest house in the name of Ratan Tata as Ratan Palli and another one is Purba Palli guest house.

Eminent Students :

Amartya Sen
Ramkinkar Mukherjee
Binod Behari Mukherjee
Syed Mujtaba Ali
Mahasweta Devi
Suchitra Mitra
Ruma pal
Satyajit Ray
Subinoy Roy
K.G. Subramanyan
Savitri Devi
Brajendra Nath Seal
Tan Yun Shan
Ghulam Mohammed Sheikh

Upacharyas of Visva Bharati University

Rathindranath Tagore 1951–1953
Kshitimohan Sen 1953–1954 (acting)
Prabodh Chandra Bagchi 1954–1956
Indiradevi Chaudhurani 1956-1956 (acting)
Satyendranath Bose 1956–1958
Kshitishchandra Chaudhuri 1958-1959 (acting)
Sudhi Ranjan Das 1959–1965
Kalidas Bhattacharya 1966–1970
Pratul Chandra Gupta 1970–1975
Surajit Chandra Sinha 1975–1980
Amlan Dutta 1980–1984
Nemai Sadhan Basu 1984–1989
Ajit Kumar Chakrabarty 1989-1990 Acting
Ashin Dasgupta 1990–1991
Sisir Mukhopadhyaya 1991-1991 Acting
Sabyasachi Bhattacharya 1991–1995
Sisir Mukhopadhyay 1995-1995 Acting
R.R.Rao, 1995-1995 Acting
Dilip K.Sinha 1995–2001
Sujit Basu 2001–2006
Rajat Kanta Ray 2006–present

Kind Regards


Author: Paritosh Pal20 Oct 2010 Member Level: Silver   Points : 1

Dear Manideep...You have done a big Mistake....Ramkinkar is my GOD, ..I am very much attached with this Great Personality, You have written his Name Ramkinkar Mukherjee....it will be Ramkinkar Baiz., Please don't do this silly mistake with this Great Man.

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: